Gallery

Noni’s lunchbox

español

vegan berry ice cream

vegan berry ice cream

It all started with Noni, my middle son.
One fine night we were feeding him baby food, old regular store bought baby food.

Immediately he started to whine and cry (which was highly unusual, Noni was a really mellow baby) so I took a second look to his face, and his lips were swollen!!.
Long story short, that night he had an anaphylactic reaction to whey. -Thank God for paramedics! they saved my 5 month’s old life that night!-
After that night our life change, we learned that he couldn’t have milk at all, and that was just the beginning.

Later we learned he was highly allergic to eggs, oats, meat, soy, peanut, nuts, pork and of course milk and any product coming from milk.
I was told that if I wanted to keep nursing I needed to have a diet free of all this foods, and so I did for 18 months…
Eventually my son got “better” and now he’s only allergic to milk products, eggs peanuts and nuts. Which means that he has lived without ever trying cheese, yogurt, peanut butter, whipped cream, scramble eggs, etc.

Then came Sophi’s autism diagnosis and we started to think about the possibility of a gluten-free and casein-free diet, but it wasn’t until my recent trip to the Autism Center of America that I resolved to take this diet seriously.

And now, it’s me… 2 1/2 years ago I had an ovarian cyst that gave me the worst pain I have ever experienced, it was a huge cyst that was surgically removed and just this past Monday the pain came back, I have another cyst…

I believe that food has a direct impact in our physical and mental health and I’m willing to give veganism a good try.
I believe that veganism and after watching Forks over Knives (the documentary) have tried to cook a vegan meal or two weekly, but I think is time to do it seriously and change my diet.

Chilean bean and corn stew

Chilean bean and corn stew

Now, this statement comes from a baking, meat and cheese lover who founds profound pleasure in food. But I feel like God keeps putting situations in my life were vegetables and legumes are the answer.  I feel like God is calling me to change my diet, to learn that food is made to fuel and nourish our bodies not to find pleasure and comfort in it.

I want to succeed and improve mine and my family’s health.  I know it can be done I was semi vegan for 18 months.

I already have a couple of recipes under my sleeve, I have the book of Daniel and need to get Forks over Knive’s cookbook.

This is super easy to write, but how would I do? I pray that God give me the strength and discipline to do it; and if I can’t become a hard core Vegan at least be a functional vegan 😉

Recipes? they’ll come soon 😉

3 thoughts on “Noni’s lunchbox

  1. Hi, I hope it is all going well for you, I agree that it is very important what we put in our bodies 🙂 I have been vegan a long time now, and I find pleasure and comfort in almost everything I eat 😀 I hope you have found vegan foods that suit you in this way too 🙂 (I realise this is an old post, sorry I’m so late to the party 😉 )
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

