What’s autism?

español

Lately a lot of people have asked me, what do I think autism is? or why does autism happen?  Wikipedia defines autism as:

“A disorder of neural development characterized by impaired social interaction and verbal and non-verbal communication, and by restricted, repetitive or stereotyped behavior.”

To me this is a very close definition of what it is, but I don’t think anybody can define what “autism” is, because nobody knows why it happens…

But I can (by my own experience) say what autism is not:

  • Is not mental retardation, a lot of the kids in the spectrum have very high iq’s (when they can be measured).
  • Is not a spoil kid crying because he is not receiving the right parenting, is a kid with sensory issues to light, smells, sounds and when they’re overwhelmed they cry because they feel things stronger than a “neuro typical” child will.
  • Is not a death sentence, is not a reason to live a bitter life, is a challenge a blessing in disguise.

I think is very hard for someone to understand what autism is if they haven’t lived with it.  I don’t know exactly what my daughter feels or doesn’t feel; even when she is a girl that in a playground can be confused by “neuro typical” I know that there are gaps, a need for control, sensory issues, etc.

Which made me think that this is not really “Sofi’s journey”, this is my journey, I can advocate for her, but I can’t talk for her… that I leave it to her, because in God’s timing she will tell us all about her journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

